A national nonprofit founded in 1992

BELL Announces 2010-2011 Robert B. Peterkin Educational Leadership Award Winner

On behalf of BELL, congratulations to Daniel Guillen, Jr., a BELL Site Manager at P.S. 103 Hector Fontanez in the Bronx, for winning the Robert B. Peterkin Educational Leadership Award. Daniel has earned this award for his outstanding work in the 2010-2011 BELL After School program.

The Peterkin Award is one of BELL's highest honors. The winner of this distinguished award is carefully selected based on scholar performance, parent, teacher, and principal feedback, leadership, management and peer nominations, and other BELL metrics. BELL's national Board of Directors and its Executive Management Team are proud to commend Daniel as our 2011 After School winner.

Scholars in Daniel's site achieved some of the greatest academic gains in any BELL After School program site across Baltimore, Boston, Detroit, Newark, and New York City. Parents, tutors, teachers, his principal, and scholars shared terrific feedback about what Daniel's leadership meant at PS 103X.

  • Daniel's "get it done" attitude and passion for scholars is evident daily. His attention to detail in running his program has resulted in having an outstanding staff, a close relationship with his principal, and a deep respect for BELL from his scholars and team.
  • Daniel is always the first one to volunteer for special projects and is always enthusiastic when a project is assigned to him. He exhibits professionalism and integrity. His site, which served 350 scholars, is the largest in New York City and serves as a model for site quality.
  • Daniel Guillen demonstrates an unwavering commitment to improving the lives of underserved scholars through education. Daniel sets the bar extremely high for what a "model site" truly looks like at BELL. In visiting Daniel's site, one immediately sees his balanced commitment to the elements of an outstanding program: building an excellent mission-driven team; ensuring high instructional standards in all classrooms; mastering the many administrative procedures and routines behind the scenes; and, focusing on scholar social and emotional development. Daniel is known for his "mastery of the details." Anyone who visits Daniel's site will leave feeling proud to work for BELL.

Daniel's name will join the names of prior winners - Sherrinne Reece, Bethy Verano, Collette Tallow and Cynthia Francis - on the Robert B. Peterkin Educational Leadership Award plaques in each BELL office.

Daniel, we are truly fortunate to have you as a member of our leadership team and we are deeply appreciative of the tremendous service you provide BELL and BELL scholars, everyday! Congratulations and thanks from all of us at BELL for modeling the leadership that is so important to the success of our programs and the thousands of scholars we serve.

Warm regards,

Tiffany Gueye, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer, BELL

Related News

Community Support Image

Mobilizing to Support Our Partners' Success

Dear Friends, For all of us, this past week’s daycare and school closings due to COVID-19 have presented a multitude of new challenges and experiences. We at BellXcel and our affiliate the Sperling Center for Research and Innovation (SCRI) have thought deeply about our role and we are putting into...
Sperling Center for Research and Innovation Main Image

Welcome to BellXcel's Sperling Center for Research and Innovation

We have exciting news to share. BellXcel has launched the Sperling Center for Research and Innovation (SCRI). Named in honor of our longtime board chair, Laurene Sperling, the Center is dedicated to increasing the quality and impact of youth-serving organizations by making evidence actionable. Too...
Educators of the Year in Montgomery, Alabama

BellXcel Names Educators of the Year

MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA — BellXcel is pleased to recognize Darryl Woods and Connel VanDiver with its Educator of the Year award. The Montgomery, AL, educators are essential to delivering dynamic, evidence-based summer learning with measurable outcomes at the YMCA of Greater Montgomery’s Power Scholar...